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Brief Summary

Provide a brief summary (preferably no more than 2 or 3 paragraphs) of this regulatory change (i.e., new
regulation, amendments to an existing regulation, or repeal of an existing regulation). Alert the reader to
all substantive matters. If applicable, generally describe the existing regulation.

The Board for Barbers and Cosmetology proposes to lower the training hours for the cosmetology license
from 1,500 hours to a minimum of 1,000 hours. During the 2022 General Assembly session, the Board
was asked to examine the cosmetology hour requirement during a legislative subcommittee meeting. The
Board concluded that the hours can be reduced while still assuring students have the necessary training
to perform services to the public safely. During the Board meeting on January 9, 2023, the Board
adopted the curriculum hours as a minimum of 1,000 hours and allotted hours per topic and
performances in the cosmetology curriculum. Additional topics and performances are required to align the
regulations with the cosmetology scope of practice in the Code of Virginia. To maintain uniformity across
the cosmetology program curriculum, the Board assigned hours to each topic listed in the curriculum.

Acronyms and Definitions
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Define all acronyms used in this form, and any technical terms that are not also defined in the
“Definitions” section of the regulation.

“Department” means the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation.

“Board” means the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology

“RAP” means Regulatory Advisory Panel

Mandate and Impetus

Identify the mandate for this regulatory change and any other impetus that specifically prompted its
initiation (e.g., new or modified mandate, petition for rulemaking, periodic review, or board decision). For
purposes of executive branch review, “mandate” has the same meaning as defined in the ORM
procedures, “a directive from the General Assembly, the federal government, or a court that requires that
a regulation be promulgated, amended, or repealed in whole or part.”

On July 11, 2022, the Board approved a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action to lower the cosmetology
hours from 1,500 to a minimum 1,000 hours. During the 2022 General Assembly session, the Board was
asked to look at the cosmetology hour requirement during a legislative subcommittee meeting that was
voting on a bill that would lower cosmetology training hours. After convening an expert panel to review
their curriculum, the Board determined that the hours could be lowered while ensuring students were
adequately trained to perform services on the public safely.

Legal Basis

Identify (1) the promulgating agency, and (2) the state and/or federal legal authority for the regulatory
change, including the most relevant citations to the Code of Virginia and Acts of Assembly chapter
number(s), if applicable. Your citation must include a specific provision, if any, authorizing the
promulgating agency to regulate this specific subject or program, as well as a reference to the agency’s
overall requlatory authority.

Code of Virginia § 54.1-201.5 gives authority to the Board to promulgate regulations. It states, in part,
that the Board has the power and duty “To promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative
Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) necessary to assure continued competency, to prevent deceptive or
misleading practices by practitioners and to effectively administer the regulatory system administered by
the regulatory board.”

Purpose

Explain the need for the regulatory change, including a description of: (1) the rationale or justification, (2)
the specific reasons the regulatory change is essential to protect the health, safety or welfare of citizens,
and (3) the goals of the regulatory change and the problems it is intended to solve.

The purpose of this action is to reduce unnecessary burdens in the cosmetology training program and
reduce the training hours for the cosmetology license, to better reflect the minimum number of hours
necessary for a student to become a safe practitioner. During the 2022 General Assembly session,
members of the General Laws committee narrowly rejected a bill that would lower the cosmetology hours
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to 1,000 hours. In doing so, members expressed the desire for the Board to take action itself in lowering
the cosmetology hours. Following that session, the Board created a Regulatory Advisory Panel (RAP)
composed of school owners, curriculum writers, public school and private school instructors, as well as a
salon safety expert and industry leaders, to review a proposed cosmetology curriculum. The RAP
completed surveys assessing each curriculum item for whether there was a safety risk addressed by the
training, whether training was the least restrictive means to address that risk, and if so, what were the
minimum number of hours needed for the student to perform that service safely. The average number of
training hours from the RAP was 892 hours. The Board reviewed the RAP’s recommendations, and
taking into consideration license portability, national trends in hours, and minimum safety requirements,
voted to lower the hours from 1,500 hours to 1,000 hours.

During the January 9, 2023, Board meeting, the Board developed specific curriculum and performance
standards, including the minimum clock or credit hours necessary to achieve minimum competency.
Establishing a minimum clock or credit hours will assist both schools and students in understanding the
minimum hours necessary to ensure minimum competency and protect the health, safety, and welfare of
the public. The proposed regulatory action will establish clear and effective curriculum criteria to assure
competency and integrity. It will prevent deceptive acts by people offering cosmetology training.

Substance

Briefly identify and explain the new substantive provisions, the substantive changes to existing sections,
or both. A more detailed discussion is provided in the “Detail of Changes” section below.

The proposed change will lower the cosmetology training hours from 1,500 to a minimum of 1,000. The
revised cosmetology curriculum ensures the training is no more burdensome than necessary while
ensuring students are training to be minimally competent practitioners.

The following is the expected curriculum changes made in this regulatory action.

18VAC41-20-200.5.D. General Requirements. Change cosmetology curricula shall be based on a
minimum 1,500 to a minimum of 1,000 clock hours.

18VAC41-20-210.D. Curriculum Requirements. Remove the existing cosmetology curriculum outlined
in this section and add the cosmetology curriculum approved at the January 9, 2023, Board meeting.

18VAC41-20-220.A. Hours of Instruction and Performances. Add 1,000 hours to the cosmetology
minimum requirements.

18VAC41-20-220.E. Curriculum Requirements for Cosmetology. Remove the existing minimum
performances for cosmetology and add the minimum performances for cosmetology approved at the
January 9, 2023, Board meeting.

Issues

Identify the issues associated with the requlatory change, including: 1) the primary advantages and
disadvantages to the public, such as individual private citizens or businesses, of implementing the new or
amended provisions; 2) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth;
and 3) other pertinent matters of interest to the requlated community, government officials, and the public.
If there are no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth, include a specific statement to that
effect.
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1)

The primary advantage of the proposed amendments to the public is to ensure their safety when
receiving cosmetology services through ensuring practitioners are minimally competent. The
Board determined that cosmetologists are minimally competent to provide services safely to the
public with a minimum of 1,000 hours of training, without being overly burdensome on potential
licensees. The Board concluded that 1,500 hours is more than necessary to provide for minimum
competency in performing cosmetology services safely on the public. This proposed amendment
may allow more individuals to participate in cosmetology programs by reducing the entry
requirement hours by one third, and could lead to more entrants into workforce.

The addition of language to include instruction in textured hair and the usage of a straight razor
will ensure cosmetologists are competent to provide safe services on all hair types and all
services within their scope of practice. This will have the added advantage to promote
inclusiveness of additional members of the public. The added specific hour requirements for
different aspects of safety and sanitation training will provide additional protection of the health,
safety and welfare of the public.

The primary disadvantage to the public is that there will be more onus on employers to
supplement training and that students will not have all the technical skills to perform every service
at a high level, but it is expected that they will become more technically proficient as their careers
progress.

The primary advantage of the proposed amendments to the Commonwealth will be having the
least restrictive regulations necessary to protect the safety of the public. The Commonwealth will
benefit from enhanced license portability and the addition of specific hours in safety and
sanitation, as well as instruction on textured hair, brings Virginia’s regulations in line with national
trends.

There are no anticipated disadvantages to the Commonwealth.

During the 2022 General Assembly session, members of the General Laws committee narrowly
rejected a bill that would lower the cosmetology hours to 1,000 hours. In doing so, members
expressed the desire for the Board to take action itself. Following that session, the Board created
a Regulatory Advisory Panel (RAP) composed of school owners, curriculum writers, public school
and private school instructors, as well as a salon safety expert and industry leaders, to review a
proposed cosmetology curriculum. As a result of the push for the Board to take action itself, the
proposed changes set minimum competency of cosmetology curricula to a minimum of 1,000
hours but does not prohibit schools to continue with their current 1,500-hour requirements.

Requirements More Restrictive than Federal

Identify and describe any requirement of the regulatory change which is more restrictive than applicable
federal requirements. Include a specific citation for each applicable federal requirement, and a rationale

for the

need for the more restrictive requirements. If there are no applicable federal requirements, or no

requirements that exceed applicable federal requirements, include a specific statement to that effect.

There are no requirements in the proposed regulations that are more restrictive than any applicable
federal requirements.

Agencies, Localities, and Other Entities Particularly Affected



Town Hall Agency Background Document Form: TH-02

Consistent with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, identify any other state agencies, localities, or other
entities particularly affected by the regulatory change. Other entities could include local partners such as
tribal governments, school boards, community services boards, and similar regional organizations.
“Particularly affected” are those that are likely to bear any identified disproportionate material impact
which would not be experienced by other agencies, localities, or entities. “Locality” can refer to either local
governments or the locations in the Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulation or
regulatory change are most likely to occur. If no agency, locality, or entity is particularly affected, include a
specific statement to that effect.

Other State Agencies Particularly Affected

Other state agencies are not affected by this regulatory change.

Localities Particularly Affected

Localities are not affected by this regulatory change.

Other Entities Particularly Affected

Other entities are not affected by this regulatory change.

Economic Impact

Consistent with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, identify all specific economic impacts (costs and/or
benefits) anticipated to result from the regulatory change. When describing a particular economic impact,
specify which new requirement or change in requirement creates the anticipated economic impact. Keep

in mind that this is the proposed change versus the status quo.

Summary:

The Board for Barbers and Cosmetology is amending the Barber, Cosmetology, Nail Technician and Wax
Technician regulations. The revised regulations propose to lower training hours for a cosmetology license
from 1,500 hours to a minimum of a 1,000 hours. During the 2022 General Assembly session, the Board
concluded that the hours can be reduced assuring students have the necessary training to perform
services to the public safely. This change revises the training topics in the cosmetology curriculum to
create uniform training among cosmetology schools. As a result, the amend change will align with the
cosmetology program curriculum requirements and the cosmetology scope of practice in the Code of
Virginia. Cosmetology schools are considered as small businesses that may be affected by this change.
There is no direct economic or fiscal impact to other state agencies.

All costs incurred in support of board activities and regulatory operations are paid by the Department of
Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) and funded through fees paid by applicants and
regulants. All boards within DPOR must operate within the Code provisions of the Callahan Act (54.1-
113), and the general provisions of 54.1-201. Each regulatory program's revenues must be adequate to
support both its direct costs and a proportional share of agency operating costs. DPOR allocates costs to
its regulatory programs based on consistent, equitable, and cost-effective methodologies. The Board has
no other source of income.

Impact on State Agencies

For DPOR: projected costs, savings, fees or There are no savings and no changes to costs,
revenues resulting from the regulatory change, fees, or revenues of DPOR resulting from this
including: regulatory change.

a) fund source / fund detail;
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b) delineation of one-time versus on-going
expenditures; and

c) whether any costs or revenue loss can be
absorbed within existing resources

For other state agencies: projected costs,
savings, fees or revenues resulting from the
regulatory change, including a delineation of one-
time versus on-going expenditures.

There are no savings and no changes to costs,
fees, or revenues of other state agencies
resulting from this regulatory change.

For all agencies: Benefits the regulatory change
is designed to produce.

A benefit of this action is to reduce unnecessary
burdens to individuals who enroll in a
cosmetology training program and that reflects
the minimum number of hours necessary for a
student to become a safe practitioner.

Impact on Localities

Projected costs, savings, fees or revenues
resulting from the regulatory change.

There are no savings and no changes to costs,
fees, or revenues of localities resulting from this
regulatory change

Benefits the regulatory change is designed to
produce.

None.

Impact on Other Entities

Description of the individuals, businesses, or
other entities likely to be affected by the
regulatory change. If no other entities will be
affected, include a specific statement to that
effect.

All individuals and businesses licensed as
cosmetology schools are affected. No other
entities are anticipated to be affected by the
change.

Agency’s best estimate of the number of such
entities that will be affected. Include an estimate
of the number of small businesses affected. Small
business means a business entity, including its
affiliates, that:

a) is independently owned and operated and;

b) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or
has gross annual sales of less than $6 million.

As of March 1, 2023, there are 139 cosmetology
schools that are affected and are considered
small businesses.

All projected costs for affected individuals,
businesses, or other entities resulting from the
regulatory change. Be specific and include all
costs including, but not limited to:

a) projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other
administrative costs required for compliance by
small businesses;

b) specify any costs related to the development of
real estate for commercial or residential purposes
that are a consequence of the regulatory change;
c) fees;

d) purchases of equipment or services; and

e) time required to comply with the requirements.

a). Individuals and businesses may notice a
reduction of cosmetology school tuition prices.
Cosmetology schools may have administrative
costs due to revising the curriculum to include
additional topics and performances. The revised
curriculum must be submitted to the Board for
review. b) There are no real estate development
costs resulting from the change, c) There are no
fees related to the change, d) No equipment or
services are needed to be purchased from this
change, and e) None.

Benefits the regulatory change is designed to
produce.

The benefit of the regulatory change would allow
affected individuals and businesses to create
uniformity among cosmetology schools and align
with the cosmetology curriculum requirements
and the Code of Virginia. Cosmetology schools
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offering the 1,000 hours program may see an
increase of student enroliment and individuals
may see a reduction of tuition prices. The
reduction in training hours allows individuals to
get to work sooner and reduce the barriers of
entry into the profession. Thus, protecting the
health, safety, and welfare of citizens.

Alternatives to Regulation

Describe any viable alternatives to the regulatory change that were considered, and the rationale used by
the agency to select the least burdensome or intrusive alternative that meets the essential purpose of the
regulatory change. Also, include discussion of less intrusive or less costly alternatives for small
businesses, as defined in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, of achieving the purpose of the regulatory
change.

The Board considered taking no action, reducing hours to 892 hours, and another 1,000-hour proposal
that would also incorporate an hours reduction for esthetics training.

Taking no action on the hours was rejected as not feasible. The RAP’s analysis of the curriculum clearly
indicated that 1,500 hours was greater than necessary to adequately protect the health, safety, and
welfare of the public. The Board’s statutory requirement in Code of Virginia §54.1-100 is to regulate no
more than necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public. The Board consensus
agreed with the RAP that 1,500 hours was more than required for minimum competency.

The Board rejected 892 hours as too little for the cosmetology license. Currently, the lowest amount of
cosmetology training hours among the states is 1,000 hours (MA, VT, NY, TX, CA). Three of these states
have lowered their hours to 1,000 over the past few years (CA, TX, VT). The Board considers license
portability an important aspect of licensure. While several states will not accept a 1,000-hour training
program (requiring these applicants to obtain additional hours in a school), many states currently do
accept that amount, either by itself or in combination with experience. Training less than 1,000 hours
would likely not be accepted by many other states and would render the license substantially less
portable than the 1,000 hours standard.

The Board rejected the 1,000 hours proposal that incorporated a change to esthetics as unnecessary.
The impact of an hours change on the esthetics schools and students would be substantially higher than
an hour’s change for cosmetology. Additionally, the RAP was more focused on cosmetology than
esthetics training, and the recommendation was not directed at changing the hours of the esthetics
license.

If this analysis has been reported on the ORM Economic Impact form, indicate the tables on which it was
reported. Information provided on that form need not be repeated here.

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Consistent with § 2.2-4007.1 B of the Code of Virginia, describe the agency’s analysis of alternative
regulatory methods, consistent with health, safety, environmental, and economic welfare, that will
accomplish the objectives of applicable law while minimizing the adverse impact on small business.
Alternative regulatory methods include, at a minimum: 1) establishing less stringent compliance or
reporting requirements; 2) establishing less stringent schedules or deadlines for compliance or reporting
requirements; 3) consolidation or simplification of compliance or reporting requirements; 4) establishing
performance standards for small businesses to replace design or operational standards required in the
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proposed regulation; and 5) the exemption of small businesses from all or any part of the requirements
contained in the regulatory change.

1) There are no regulatory alternatives that would be less stringent and are consistent with
protecting the public. The Board determined that cosmetologists achieve minimum competency to
provide services safely to the public with 1,000 hours of training and a minimum of 1000-hour
cosmetology curriculum was necessary to meet its obligation under 54.1-100 of regulating “no
greater than necessary” to protect the public. Alternatives to the cosmetology hours either do not
adequately protect the health and safety of the public or it reduces license portability.

2) There are no deadlines for compliance or reporting requirements being created by this action.

3) The 1000-hour minimum requirements and the additional language, including instruction in
textured hair and straight razor usage, are required to ensure adequate training on the
cosmetology scope of practice and establish minimal competency. This decision does not create
any new reporting requirements.

4) Performance standards are utilized in all cases where the Board believes it can provide an
adequate level of protection to the health, safety, and welfare of the public.

5) Small businesses cannot be exempted from this action. Most of the schools operating in Virginia
are small businesses, many operated by practitioners. This change will reduce the burden for
owner/practitioners that wish to offer a lower hour cosmetology program. Exempting small
businesses from the regulation would substantially increase the health and safety risks to the
public.

If this analysis has been reported on the ORM Economic Impact form, indicate the tables on which it was
reported. Information provided on that form need not be repeated here.

Periodic Review and
Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings

If you are using this form to report the result of a periodic review/small business impact review that is
being conducted as part of this regulatory action, and was announced during the NOIRA stage, indicate
whether the regulatory change meets the criteria set out in EO 19 and the ORM procedures, e.g., is
necessary for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare; minimizes the economic impact on small
businesses consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; and is clearly written and easily
understandable. In addition, as required by § 2.2-4007.1 E and F of the Code of Virginia, discuss the
agency'’s consideration of: (1) the continued need for the regulation; (2) the nature of complaints or
comments received concerning the regulation; (3) the complexity of the regulation; (4) the extent to the
which the regulation overlaps, duplicates, or conflicts with federal or state law or regulation; and (5) the
length of time since the regulation has been evaluated or the degree to which technology, economic
conditions, or other factors have changed in the area affected by the regulation. Also, discuss why the
agency'’s decision, consistent with applicable law, will minimize the economic impact of requlations on
small businesses.

This regulatory action is not the result of a periodic review/small business impact review.

Public Comment

Summarize all comments received during the public comment period following the publication of the
previous stage, and provide the agency’s response. Include all comments submitted: including those
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received on Town Hall, in a public hearing, or submitted directly to the agency. If no comment was
received, enter a specific statement to that effect.

Commenter

Comment

Agency response

LaFarn
Burton/Comment ID:
128553

If the hours are reduced, then
topics should also be
removed, such as nails,
waxing, makeup, and
eyelashes. Cosmetology
should only include hair.

Currently, the Code of Virginia establishes
the cosmetology scope of practice, which
includes, hair, nails, makeup, and waxing.
In order to remove these from
cosmetology, the Code of Virginia would
need to be amended by the General
Assembly. Since these topics are within
the cosmetology scope of practice, the
Board has determined that cosmetologist
should be trained in them in order to be
minimally competent.

Stephanie J
Smith/Comment ID:
128644

Lowering the hours would not
do the industry justice/would

be a disservice to the industry.

The purpose of the Board is to ensure the
public is safe when receiving cosmetology
services through ensuring practitioners
are minimally competent. The Board has
determined a cosmetologist can be trained
in all aspect of their license in a minimum
of 1,000 hours. The Board does not exist
to raise the stature or industry standards,
but rather, exists to set minimum
standards to ensure the public's safety.

Cian/Comment ID:
128870

Barbering is 1,100,
cosmetology should not be
less than basic barbering.

Thank you for your comments regarding
the barber hours. The Board recognizes
that this change calls into question the
barber training hours. The Board intends
to study the barber training hours
separately, apart from this regulatory
action. The Board has studied
cosmetology training requirements and
believe that practitioners can be trained to
safely provide services in 1,000 hours.

Zachary

128871

Ramsey/Comment ID:

Currently, students are not
given adequate opportunity to
service clients and are
unprepared to do so once
licensed.

The current Board regulations do not set a
specific amount of time towards practical
training but do require over 500 client
services. Most schools are approved to
teach 300-500 hours of theory, and 1,000
to 1,200 hours of practical. The Board will
examine whether to continue requiring a
specific number of performances. That
being said, the Board's objective is to
have the least restrictive regulations
necessary to protect the safety of the
public and has determined a minimum of
1,000 hours is the least amount necessary
for students to learn to do these safely. It
is expected that they will become more
technically proficient as their careers
progress.
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Lowering the hours will create
an unsafe salon environment.

The board assembled a panel of advisors
representing businesses, public schools,
private career and technical schools, and
subject matter expertise in infection
control to conduct a comprehensive
review of the education and training
Virginia mandates to obtain a
cosmetologist license. The panel included
two curriculum writers, including the
author of the infection control section of
the primary cosmetology textbook,
Milady’s. The panel evaluated each
individual cosmetology curriculum item to
determine whether there was a safety risk
addressed by the training, whether
training was the least restrictive means to
address that risk, and if so, what was the
minimal amount of training hours required
for the student to perform that service
safely. The panel’s average minimum
training to safely

perform cosmetology was 892 hours,
including adequate training on infection
and disease control. This was very similar
to the 840 hours that public high schools
currently require for

the cosmetology license. Virginia public
high schools have ranged between 1,000
hours and 560 hours over the past 50
years. About 30% of the board’s
licensees come from these high school
programs, which have a higher
competency exam pass rate than the
private, 1,500-hour schools. DPOR has
no data indicating high school program
completers are less competent or safe
than graduates of the 1,500-hour
program.

Geraldine
Burgess/Comment ID:
128873

Lowering hours would be
unwise.

The purpose of the Board is to ensure the
public is safe when receiving cosmetology
services through ensuring practitioners
are minimally competent. The Board has
determined that cosmetologists can be
trained to perform cosmetology safely in

a minimum of 1,000 hours.

Kristina
NeCollins/Comment ID:
128881

Lowering the hours would not
do the industry justice/would
be a disservice to the industry.

The purpose of the Board is to ensure the
public is safe when receiving cosmetology
services through ensuring practitioners
are minimally competent. The Board has
determined a cosmetologist can be trained
in all aspect of their license in a minimum
of 1,000 hours. The Board does not exist
to raise the stature or industry standards,
but rather, exists to set minimum
standards to ensure the public's safety.

10
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If anything, there should be an
apprenticeship requirement
prior to licensure.

The Board requires students complete a
set number of practical performances,
currently over 500 individual services, as
part of their training program. This is
designed for students to obtain that
practical knowledge. The Board
recognizes that students will not have all
the technical skills to perform every
service at a high level. The training
requirements, however, will be sufficient at
1,000 hours to ensure every student is
trained to perform every service safely,
which the statutory requirement of the
Board. The Board also offers an
apprenticeship training option as an
alternative to school, and the program will
not be affected in this proposal.

Jodi Gist/Comment ID:
128895

This will not increase
employment in the profession.

The purpose of the Board is to ensure the
public is safe when receiving cosmetology
services through ensuring practitioners
are minimally competent. The Board has
determined a cosmetologist can be trained
in all aspect of their license in 1,000
hours. The Board does not exist to
increase employment in the profession,
but rather, exists to set minimum
standards to ensure the public's safety.

Tabbitha
Bowler/Comment ID:
128920

More training should be
required, not less.

Continuing education should
be required.

The purpose of the Board is to ensure the
public is safe when receiving cosmetology
services through ensuring practitioners
are minimally competent. The Board has
determined a cosmetologist can be trained
to practice all aspects of their license
safely in 1,000 hours.

Thank you for your comments regarding
continuing education. The purpose of the
Board is to ensure the public is safe when
receiving cosmetology services through
ensuring practitioners are minimally
competent. Since the inception of the
Board in 1963, there has not been
continuing education requirement.
Currently, there is no evidence that
practitioners are losing or diminishing in
competency due to a lack of continuing
education. The Board will take your
comments under advisement but will have
to demonstrate with evidence that current
practitioners are unsafe, and that
continuing education is the least restrictive
means to reduce the risk of harm.

Amanda
Pickering/Comment ID:
128924

Students will not be or feel
adequately prepared to pass
the exam or practice in the

The Board proposes to lower the school
training hours from 1,500 to a minimum of
1,000 hours. This lower hour amount very

11
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profession. Teachers will feel
rushed in teaching the
material.

similar to the 840 hours that public high
schools currently require for

the cosmetology license. Virginia public
high schools have ranged between 1,000
hours and 560 hours over the past 50
years. About 30% of the board’s
licensees come from these high school
programs, which have a higher
competency exam pass rate than the
private, 1,500-hour schools. DPOR has
no data indicating high school program
completers are less competent or safe
than graduates of the 1,500-hour program.

Roman’s Hair Empire &
Beauty
Academy/Comment ID:
128926

Lowering hours would be
unwise.

The purpose of the Board is to ensure the
public is safe when receiving cosmetology
services through ensuring practitioners
are minimally competent. The Board has
determined that cosmetologists can be
trained to perform cosmetology safely in

a minimum of 1,000 hours.

Sajer Guy/Comment
ID: 128927

Lower the hours in order
increase market participation.
Practitioners can learn to
advance their skills on the job.

Thank you for your comments in support
of this change. While some advocates
believe lowering the hours will increase
market participation, the Board's reason
for this change is to ensure that the
training standards are the minimum
necessary to protect the health, safety,
and welfare of the public, and no greater.

Sharpen Your Skillz
Continuing Education
and Salon
LLC/Comment ID:
128928

Lowering the hours would not
do the industry justice/would
be a disservice to the industry.

The purpose of the Board is to ensure the
public is safe when receiving cosmetology
services through ensuring practitioners
are minimally competent. The Board has
determined a cosmetologist can be trained
in all aspect of their license in a minimum
of 1,000 hours. The Board does not exist
to raise the stature or industry standards,
but rather, exists to set minimum
standards to ensure the public's safety.

Fusions School of
Cosmetology/Comment
ID: 128931

1,000 hours is not sufficient to
complete all 525 of the current
required performances.

Thank you for your comment regarding
the inadequacy of time to complete all the
performances in 1,000 hours. The Board
is considering lowering the number of
required performances as part of this
change.

Bonita Pines/Comment
ID: 128936

Students will not be or feel
adequately prepared to pass
the exam or practice in the
profession. Teachers will feel
rushed in teaching the
material.

The Board proposes to lower the school
training hours from 1,500 to a minimum of
1,000 hours. This lower hour amount very
similar to the 840 hours that public high
schools currently require for

the cosmetology license. Virginia public
high schools have ranged between 1,000
hours and 560 hours over the past 50
years. About 30% of the board’s
licensees come from these high school
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Grants and Financial Aid will
be detrimentally impacted by
this change.

programs, which have a higher
competency exam pass rate than the
private, 1,500-hour schools. DPOR has
no data indicating high school program
completers are less competent or safe
than graduates of the 1,500-hour
program.

The Board intends to take the impact on
current students into account when
implement this change. At this time, the
Board expects to incorporate a phase in or
teach out period for schools in order to
avoid financial disruption for the students.
Regarding federal financial student aid,
the Board does not control federal
financial aid policy or access and does not
have the statutory authority or
responsibility to create requirements in an
attempt to access to those resources

Shamecca
Sawyer/Comment ID:
128937

As a student, | want the hours
lowered. Schools appear to
have the hours at 1,500 in
order to make money.

Thank you for your comments in support
of this change. While some advocates
believe lowering the hours will decrease
the tuition costs, the Board's reason for
this change is to ensure that the training
standards are the minimum necessary to
protect the health, safety, and welfare of
the public, and no greater.

Julie Garcia/Comment
ID: 128938

The Board should consider a
hair stylist license with shorter
training rather than lower
cosmetology hours.

The scope of practice and license types
are determined by the General Assembly.
At this time, the General Assembly has
not approved a hair stylist license, and so
that is not something the Board is able to
utilize. This is something you may wish to
speak with your state representatives
about.

Maggie

Marciniak/Comment ID:

At 1,000 hours, students
would not be sufficiently

The purpose of the Board is to ensure the
public is safe when receiving cosmetology

128942 trained to be successful and services through ensuring practitioners
earn a livable income. We are minimally competent. The Board has
owe it to them to provide determined a cosmetologist can be trained
sufficient education to earn a to practice all aspects of their license
livable income. safely in 1,000 hours. While the goal of

earning a livable income is laudable, it is
not the Board's prerogative to set
standards based on what it thinks will be
most economically beneficial for its
licensees.

Val Lowering the hours would not | The purpose of the Board is to ensure the

Pennington/Comment
ID: 128943

do the industry justice/would

be a disservice to the industry.

public is safe when receiving cosmetology
services through ensuring practitioners
are minimally competent. The Board has
determined a cosmetologist can be trained
in all aspect of their license in a minimum
of 1,000 hours. The Board does not exist
to raise the stature or industry standards,
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but rather, exists to set minimum
standards to ensure the public's safety.

Viktoria
Ivanova/Comment ID:
128945

Lowering the hours would not
do the industry justice/would
be a disservice to the industry.

The purpose of the Board is to ensure the
public is safe when receiving cosmetology
services through ensuring practitioners
are minimally competent. The Board has
determined a cosmetologist can be trained
in all aspect of their license in a minimum
of 1,000 hours. The Board does not exist
to raise the stature or industry standards,
but rather, exists to set minimum
standards to ensure the public's safety.

Esther
Lawson/Comment ID:
131031

The Board does not inspect
salons.

The Board does not regulate
stylists.

The Board allows unlicensed
individuals to advertise on
Groupon and other websites.

The Board allows hair to be
practiced in residential
housing.

The Department of Professional and
Occupational Regulation (DPOR)
administers the inspection and
investigations for the Board. DPOR does
regularly conduct onsite inspections of
salons, though currently, this is in
response to written complaints. The Board
continues to look at ways to approve the
process.

While there is not a "hair stylist" license
type in Virginia, the Board does regulate
cosmetology, nail care, waxing, and
esthetics, for compensation.

Performing cosmetology services for
compensation without a license is a crime
in Virginia. The Board does not allow
criminal unlicensed activity and can assist
local law enforcement in investigating this
type of criminal conduct. If you know of
instances of unlicensed activity, we
encourage to file a complaint, which can
be done anonymously, with DPOR. You
can find instruction on how to file a
complaint at:
https://www.dpor.virginia.gov/Report-
Licensee/

The Board currently requires all salon to
meet local zoning ordinances. Localities
have the authority under the Code of
Virginia to establish zoning laws and
whether cosmetology can be practiced in
residentially zoned buildings. While this
comment does not pertain to cosmetology
hours, the Board may consider this issue
in a separate regulatory review.

Anonymous/Comment
ID: 146127

More training should be
required, not less.

The purpose of the Board is to ensure the
public is safe when receiving cosmetology
services through ensuring practitioners
are minimally competent. The Board has
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determined a cosmetologist can be trained
to practice all aspects of their license
safely in 1,000 hours.

Edward
Timmons/Comment ID:
147062

In support of the change, |
have provided research.

Thank you for your comments in support
of this change. The Board will consider
your comments and the research you
provided as it finalizes its decision.

Tamara
Lewis/Comment ID:
148663

Apprentices need this training,
and a reduction would be an
injustice to the apprenticeship
program.

The current proposal only pertains to
licensed cosmetology schools. The Board
also offers an apprenticeship training
option as an alternative to school, and the
program will not be affected in this
proposal.

Anonymous/Comment
ID: 156759

Lowering hours would be
unwise.

The purpose of the Board is to ensure the
public is safe when receiving cosmetology
services through ensuring practitioners
are minimally competent. The Board has
determined that cosmetologists can be
trained to perform cosmetology safely in

a minimum of 1,000 hours.

Staunton School of
Cosmetology/Comment
ID: 182131

Salon owners do not have the
time to continue training of
their employees.

The purpose of these
standards is to make sure we
give the students what they
are paying for, a good
education and to become
successfully employed. By
taking away their education,
you will take away student's
ability to change the world. It
will limit career options.

Grants and Financial Aid will
be detrimentally impacted by
this change.

The purpose of the Board is to ensure the
public is safe when receiving cosmetology
services through ensuring practitioners
are minimally competent. The Board has
determined a cosmetologist can be trained
to practice all aspects of their license
safely in 1,000 hours. The Board does not
exist to enhance the profession or
reputation of the industry. Once the
training standards of performing the
services safely is met, the students should
be eligible to obtain the license.

The purpose of the Board is to ensure the
public is safe when receiving cosmetology
services through ensuring practitioners
are minimally competent. The Board has
determined a cosmetologist can be trained
to practice all aspects of their license
safely in 1,000 hours. While the goal of
providing a good education and
successful employment is laudable, it is
the Board's responsibility to set the
standards based on minimum
competency.

The Board intends to take the impact on
current students into account when
implement this change. At this time, the
Board expects to incorporate a phase in or
teach out period for schools in order to
avoid financial disruption for the students.
Regarding federal financial student aid,
the Board does not control federal
financial aid policy or access and does not
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have the statutory authority or
responsibility to create requirements in an
attempt to access to those resources.

Anonymous/Comment
ID: 182263

Virginia is already one of the
lower hour states for
cosmetology.

Virginia is currently at 1,500 hours, which
a majority of states require. The board
assembled a panel of advisors
representing businesses, public schools,
private career and technical schools, and
subject matter experts in infection control
to conduct a comprehensive review of the
education and training Virginia mandates
to obtain a cosmetologist license. The
panel’s average minimum training to
safely perform cosmetology was 892
hours. The Board reviewed the panel's
minimum safety recommendations while
taking into consideration license portability
and national trends in hours. Texas,
California, and Vermont have recently
changed to 1,000 hours, while several
others have been at 1,000 hours for
decades. The Board ultimately went
above the panel’s 892-hour average,
voting to reduce to a minimum of 1,000
hours.

Anonymous/Comment
ID: 182354

Lowering the hours would not
do the industry justice/would

be a disservice to the industry.

The purpose of the Board is to ensure the
public is safe when receiving cosmetology
services through ensuring practitioners
are minimally competent. The Board has
determined a cosmetologist can be trained
in all aspect of their license in a minimum
of 1,000 hours. The Board does not exist
to raise the stature or industry standards,
but rather, exists to set minimum
standards to ensure the public's safety.

Anonymous/Comment
ID: 183426

More training should be
required, not less.

The purpose of the Board is to ensure the
public is safe when receiving cosmetology
services through ensuring practitioners
are minimally competent. The Board has
determined that cosmetologists can be
trained to perform cosmetology safely in
1,000 hours.

Anonymous/Comment
ID: 185065

Lowering hours would be
unwise.

The purpose of the Board is to ensure the
public is safe when receiving cosmetology
services through ensuring practitioners
are minimally competent. The Board has
determined that cosmetologists can be
trained to perform cosmetology safely in

a minimum of 1,000 hours.

Ms. Williams/Comment
ID: 185809

Lowering the hours would not
do the industry justice/would

be a disservice to the industry.

The purpose of the Board is to ensure the
public is safe when receiving cosmetology
services through ensuring practitioners
are minimally competent. The Board has
determined a cosmetologist can be trained
in all aspect of their license in @ minimum
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of 1,000 hours. The Board does not exist
to raise the stature or industry standards,
but rather, exists to set minimum
standards to ensure the public's safety.

J Jones/Comment ID:
186991

If this regulation passes, |
recommend the same amount
of training focused on safety
and sanitation. The board
should create curriculum
priorities.

The Board's focus in this change is
surrounding safety and sanitation. In fact,
in the current program, there is not a
specific hour’s requirement on safety and
sanitation. As part of this proposal, the
Board will consider setting specific hours
requirements for different aspect of safety
and sanitation training. Your comments
will be taken under advisement.

Jacqueline The reduction in hours will The public high school’'s cosmetology
Anderson//Comment make it easier for public high programs are currently 840 hours and are
ID: 187472 school students to finish their not impacted by this change. Those
program. programs are regulated directly by the
Virginia Department of Education.
Tanya Lowering the hours would not | The purpose of the Board is to ensure the

Lumsden/Comment ID:

187611

do the industry justice/would

be a disservice to the industry.

Barbering is 1,100,
cosmetology should not be
less than basic barbering.

public is safe when receiving cosmetology
services through ensuring practitioners
are minimally competent. The Board has
determined a cosmetologist can be trained
in all aspect of their license in a minimum
of 1,000 hours. The Board does not exist
to raise the stature or industry standards,
but rather, exists to set minimum
standards to ensure the public's safety.

Thank you for your comments regarding
the barber hours. The Board recognizes
that this change calls into question the
barber training hours. The Board intends
to study the barber training hours
separately, apart from this regulatory
action. The Board has studied
cosmetology training requirements and
believe that practitioners can be trained to
safely provide services in 1,000 hours.

James
Taylor/Comment ID:
187621

The reduction in hours will
make it easier for public high
school students to finish their
program.

The public high school’'s cosmetology
programs are currently 840 hours and are
not impacted by this change. Those
programs are regulated directly by the
Virginia Department of Education.

Kim Hymel/Comment
ID: 187724

The reduction in hours will
make it easier for public high
school students to finish their
program.

The public high cosmetology programs
are currently 840 hours and are not
impacted by this change. Those
programs are regulated directly by the
Virginia Department of Education.

Joyce
Worrall/Comment ID:
188886

This will reduce license
portability.

Virginia is currently at 1,500 hours, which
majority of the state require. The board
assembled a panel of advisors
representing businesses, public schools,
private career and technical schools, and
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Grants and Financial Aid will
be detrimentally impacted by
this change.

subject matter expertise in infection
control to conduct a comprehensive
review of the education and training
Virginia mandates to obtain a
cosmetologist license. The panel's
average minimum training to safely
perform cosmetology was 892 hours. The
Board reviewed the panel’s minimum
safety recommendations while taking into
consideration license portability and
national trends in hours. Texas, California,
and Vermont have recently changed to
1,000 hours, while several others have
been at 1,000 hours for decades. The
Board ultimately went above the panel's
892-hour average, voting to reduce to a
minimum of a 1,000 hours.

The Board intends to take the impact on
current students into account when
implement this change. At this time, the
Board expects to incorporate a phase in or
teach out period for schools in order to
avoid financial disruption for the students.
Regarding federal financial student aid,
the Board does not control federal
financial aid policy or access and does not
have the statutory authority or
responsibility to create requirements in an
attempt to access to those resources.

Kristen Kent/Comment
ID: 188901

There are other means of
licensure in Virginia, why are
licensed schools being
targeted.

This will reduce license
portability.

During the 2022 General Assembly
session, the legislature tasked the Board
with reviewing the cosmetology school
hours. This led the board to create a
Regulatory Advisory Panel to review the
cosmetology curriculum and recommend
the minimum number of hours needed for
students to learn minimum competency.
The board based its decision on the
panel's recommendations. Other methods
of entry will be reviewed as part of the
Board's line by line review of its
regulations currently underway.

Virginia is currently at 1,500 hours, which
majority of the state require. The board
assembled a panel of advisors
representing businesses, public schools,
private career and technical schools, and
subject matter expertise in infection
control to conduct a comprehensive
review of the education and training
Virginia mandates to obtain a
cosmetologist license. The panel's
average minimum training to safely
perform cosmetology was 892 hours. The
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Grants and Financial Aid will
be detrimentally impacted by
this change.

Accredited schools should be
consulted regarding the
timeframe of implementation.

The board should allow
schools flexibility on program
length. Students should be
allowed to decide if they want
1,000 hours or additional
training.

The Board should consider a
hair stylist license with shorter
training rather than lower
cosmetology hours.

Board reviewed the panel’s minimum
safety recommendations while taking into
consideration license portability and
national trends in hours. Texas, California,
and Vermont have recently changed to
1,000 hours, while several others have
been at 1,000 hours for decades. The
Board ultimately went above the panel's
892-hour average, voting to reduce to a
minimum of a 1,000 hours.

The Board intends to take the impact on
current students into account when
implement this change. At this time, the
Board expects to incorporate a phase in or
teach out period for schools in order to
avoid financial disruption for the students.
Regarding federal financial student aid,
the Board does not control federal
financial aid policy or access and does not
have the statutory authority or
responsibility to create requirements in an
attempt to access to those resources.

The Board anticipates staff will consult
with accredited schools and intends to
take those concerns into account.

The board has adopted flexible hours on
the program length, establishing a
minimum of 1,000 hours, but still allowing
schools to offer a longer program if they
wish.

The scope of practice and license types
are determined by the General Assembly.
At this time, the General Assembly has
not approved a hair stylist license, and so
that is not something the Board is able to
utilize. This is something you may wish to
speak with your state representatives
about.

Treasure
Spinner/Comment ID:
188972

| support this change.

Thank you for your comment.

Christina
Stocks/Comment ID:
188998

Our students don't want the
hours reduced.

The purpose of the Board is to ensure the
public is safe when receiving cosmetology
services through ensuring practitioners
are minimally competent. The Board has
determined a cosmetologist can be trained
to practice all aspects of their license
safely in 1,000 hours. While the goal of
providing a good education and
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successful employment is laudable, it is
Board's responsibility to set the standards
based on minimum competency.

Ben Knotts, Americans
for Prosperity
Virginia/lComment ID:
189174

| support this change.

Thank you for your comment.

Debra
Sawyer/Comment ID:
189220

| support this change. As a
salon owner, | do not see a
difference in preparedness
between the 840 hours
graduates and the 1,500-hour
graduates.

Thank you for your comments in support
of this change. The Board has taken them
under advisement.

Daniel
Greenberg/Comment
ID: 189255

If this regulation passes, |
recommend the same amount
of training focused on safety
and sanitation. The board
should create curriculum
priorities.

The Board's focus in this change is
surrounding safety and sanitation. In fact,
in the current program, there is not a
specific hour’s requirement on safety and
sanitation. As part of this proposal, the
Board will consider setting specific hours
requirements for different aspect of safety
and sanitation training. Your comments
will be taken under advisement.

Riley Smith (SMIHA)/
Comment ID: 189305

Lowering the hours would not
do the industry justice/would
be a disservice to the industry.

The purpose of the Board is to ensure the
public is safe when receiving cosmetology
services through ensuring practitioners
are minimally competent. The Board has
determined a cosmetologist can be trained
in all aspect of their license in a minimum
of 1,000 hours. The Board does not exist
to raise the stature or industry standards,
but rather, exists to set minimum
standards to ensure the public's safety.

Peter Eriks/Comment
ID: 189312

Lowering the hours would not
do the industry justice/would
be a disservice to the industry.

The purpose of the Board is to ensure the
public is safe when receiving cosmetology
services through ensuring practitioners
are minimally competent. The Board has
determined a cosmetologist can be trained
in all aspect of their license in a minimum
of 1,000 hours. The Board does not exist
to raise the stature or industry standards,
but rather, exists to set minimum
standards to ensure the public's safety.

Jonathan Melloul

The hours reduction does not
address the administrative and
regulatory burden on schools.

This proposal focuses on the cosmetology
school training hours. The Board is
conducting line by line review of all its
regulations to ensure that they are no
greater than necessary to protect the
health, safety, and welfare of the public.
The administrative burdens on the schools
will be reviewed as part of the Board's
broader review in a separate action.

DPOR's oversight of cosmetology schools
stems out of the Code of Virginia. A
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All education, including
cosmetology, should be
regulated by SCHEV and not
DPOR.

Specific recommendation
relating to the RAP curriculum
review.

legislative change to the Code of Virginia
would be required to remove DPOR's
oversight.

Thank you for your recommendations. The
Board has taken your comments under
advisement.

Kalli Blackwell
Peterman

Create an FAQ on the
rulemaking process.

We ask the Board to release a
similar FAQ to Texas. This
information should include at a
minimum: Whether schools
can continue to enroll students
in a 1,500- hour curriculum;
Anticipated timeline for
adoption of regulations;
Appropriate contact for
questions.

Require a portion of the hair
curriculum cover curly or
textured hair.

The Virginia Regulatory Town Hall has
provided many resources, including flow
charts and descriptions of each regulatory
action, that should answer questions
about the regulatory process. That
information can be found here:
https://townhall.virginia.gov/um/toc.cfm

Thank you for your recommendation. The
Board will ask staff to do this as it gets
closer to implementation.

Thank you for your comment. The Board
has included this topic on the proposed
regulations.

Lee U McGrath

The Board should consider
replacing occupational
licensing with an inspection
process.

This proposal focuses on the cosmetology
school training hours. Additionally, the
requirement for the occupational license is
established in the Code of Virginia. The
Board does not have the authority to
remove the licensing requirement.

Public Participation

Indicate how the public should contact the agency to submit comments on this regulation, and whether a
public hearing will be held, by completing the text below.

The Board for Barbers and Cosmetology is providing an opportunity for comments on this
regulatory proposal, including but not limited to (i) the costs and benefits of the regulatory
proposal, (ii) any alternative approaches, and (iii) the potential impacts of the regulation.

Anyone wishing to submit written comments for the public comment file may do so through the
Public Comment Forums feature of the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall web site at:
https://townhall.virginia.gov. Comments may also be submitted by mail, email or fax to Kelley
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Palmatier, Executive Director, Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, Department of Professional
and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, Virginia 23233.
Telephone: (804) 367-8590, Fax: (866) 245-9693. Email barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. In
order to be considered, comments must be received by 11:59 pm on the last day of the public
comment period.

A public hearing will be held following the publication of this stage and notice of the hearing will
be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (https://townhall.virginia.gov) and on the
Commonwealth Calendar website (https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/). Both oral and
written comments may be submitted at that time.

Detail of Changes

List all regulatory changes and the consequences of the changes. Explain the new requirements and
what they mean rather than merely quoting the text of the regulation. For example, describe the intent of
the language and the expected impact. Describe the difference between existing requirement(s) and/or
agency practice(s) and what is being proposed in this regulatory change. Use all tables that apply, but
delete inapplicable tables.

If an existing VAC Chapter(s) is being amended or repealed, use Table 1 to describe the changes
between the existing VAC Chapter(s) and the proposed regulation. If the existing VAC Chapter(s) or
sections are being repealed and replaced, ensure Table 1 clearly shows both the current number and the
new number for each repealed section and the replacement section.

Table 1: Changes to Existing VAC Chapter(s)

requirements for
cosmetology schools.

Current New chapter- | Current requirements in Change, intent, rationale, and likely
chapter- | section VAC impact of new requirements

section number, if

number applicable

18VAC41- Establishes general This section is amended to decrease the
20- requirements for schools. cqsmetology curricula hours to a
200.5.D minimum of 1,000 hours.

18VAC41- Establishes curriculum This section is amended to bring the
20-210.D cosmetology curriculum in line with the

statutory scope of practice for
cosmetology and assign minimum hours
per topic in the curriculum outline for
cosmetology.

Amend subsection 1 to add “business
topics” to the title. Include the minimum
hours of instruction for the topic, which
is 45 hours. Remove previous
curriculum content and add the updated
curriculum content for this section.

Amend subsection 2. Change the
curriculum content title from manicuring
and pedicuring

to laws and regulations. Include the
minimum hours of instruction for the
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topic, which is 10 hours. Remove
subsection 2.A, 2.B, 2.C, and 2.D.

Amend subsection 3. Change the
curriculum content title from
shampooing and rinsing to general
sciences. Include the minimum hours of
instruction for the topic, which is 55
hours. Add the updated curriculum
content for this section. Remove
subsection 3.D.

Amend subsection 4. Change the
curriculum content title from scalp
treatments to applied sciences in
anatomy, physiology, and histology -
minimum of 40 hours of instruction.
Include the minimum hours of instruction
for the topic, which is 40 hours. Remove
subsection 4.A, 4.B, 4.C, and 4.D.
Amend subsection 5. Change the
curriculum content title from hair styling
to shampooing, rinsing, and scalp
treatments for all hair types, including
textured hair._Include the minimum
hours of instruction for the topic, which
is 20 hours. Add the updated curriculum
content for this section. Remove
subsection 5.C, and 5.D.

Amend subsection 6. Change the
curriculum content title from hair cutting
to hair styling for all hair types, including
textured hair. Include the minimum
hours of instruction for the topic, which
is 65 hours. Add the updated curriculum
content for this section. Remove
subsection 6.D.

Amend subsection 7. Change the
curriculum content title from permanent
waving-chemical relaxing to hair cutting
for all hair types, including textured hair.
Include the minimum hours of instruction
for the topic, which is 65 hours. Add the
updated curriculum content for this
section. Remove subsection 7.C, 7.D,
7.E,and 7.F.

Amend subsection 8. Change the
curriculum content title from hair
coloring and bleaching to permanent
waving and chemical relaxing for all hair
types, including textured hair._Include
the minimum hours of instruction for the
topic, which is 115 hours. Add the
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updated curriculum content for this
section. Remove subsection 8.D, 8.E,
and 8.F.

Amend subsection 9. Change the
curriculum content title from skin care
and make-up to hair coloring and
bleaching for all hair types, including
textured hair. Include the minimum
hours of instruction for the topic, which
is 160 hours. Add the updated
curriculum content for this section.
Remove subsection 9.D, 9.E, 9.F, and
9.G.

Amend subsection 10 include the
minimum hours of instruction for the
topic, which is 15 hours.

Amend subsection 11. Change the
curriculum content title from salon
management to straight razor use and
shaving - minimum of 20 hours. Include
the minimum hours of instruction for the
topic, which is 20 hours. Remove
subsection 11.A and 11.B.

New subsection 12 is added. Add the
curriculum title manicuring and
pedicuring. Include the minimum hours
of instruction for the topic, which is 75
hours. Add the updated curriculum
content for this section.

New subsection 13 is added. Add the
curriculum title skin care. Include the
minimum hours of instruction for the
topic, which is 160 hours. Add the
updated curriculum content for this
section.

New subsection 14 is added. Add the
curriculum title makeup. Include the
minimum hours of instruction for the
topic, which is 35 hours. Add the
updated curriculum content for this
section.

New subsection 15 is added. Add the
curriculum title body and other
treatments. Include the minimum hours
of instruction for the topic, which is 20
hours. Add the updated curriculum
content for this section.
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New subsection 16 is added. Add the
curriculum title hair removal. Include the
minimum hours of instruction for the
topic, which is 35 hours. Add the
updated curriculum content for this
section.

18VAC
41-20-220

Establishes the hours of
instruction and
performances for schools.

Subsection A is amended to reflect the
new cosmetology minimum hour
requirement of 1,000 hours.

Subsection E is amended to bring the
cosmetology hours and performances in
line with the statutory scope of practice
for cosmetology and establish the hours
and performances.

Amend subsection E and remove hair
styling (320 performances), tinting (15
performances), bleaching and frosting
(10 performances), temporary rinses (10
performances), cold permanent waving
or chemical relaxing (25 performances),
hair shaping (50 performances), finger
waving and thermal waving (30
performances), basic facials and
waxings (5 performances).

The reference to “wig care, styling,
placing on model” will be changed to
wigs, hair pieces, and related theory,
manicures and pedicures will be
changed to manicuring and pedicuring
with 15 procedures, and sculptured
nails, nail tips, and wraps will have 3 full
sets of performances.

Performances are added to align the
cosmetology performances with the
statutory scope of practice for
cosmetology. Add straight razor use and
shaving (12 performances), body and
other treatments (10 performances),
makeup (30 performances), skin care
(20 performances), and hair removal (15
performances).

These changes reflect the modified
curriculum requirements for the
cosmetology program and reduce the
total number of performances from 525
to 360.
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